BELLS COTTAGE has been available for Private Hire on a daily or weekly basis since late December 2017.   We are therefore thrilled that all our reviews to date have reflected the hard work and energy we have put into making Bells Cottage somewhere people love to stay, recommend to their friends, and want to return to.  A few of our Guest’s reviews are below. We have worked hard to make the Cottage a Home from Home and to have every comfort we would hope to find somewhere we stayed.  A few of the testimonies below that we have received in such a short time we hope are tantamount to our efforts to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and something special. For more reviews (and more recent ones), please look us up on TripAdvisor, where we have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence

Best cottage ever. Reviewed in December 2018 for a stay in November 2018

I have stayed all over the world in some of the best hotels on offer and this cottage was truly outstanding. The attention to detail was second to none. If you want a romantic British holiday then this place is one of the best. I’ll be taking my fiance back in the new year!!
Quintessential cotswoldian charm and cuteness blew us away. Reviewed in December 2018 for a stay in November 2018
I’m not normally one for reviews, but when you’re blown away by a customer experience, it’s important to share that for others to enjoy! Not only was Bells Cottage full of quintessentially Cotswoldian charm and cuteness, but every little fine detail has been thought of by Deb, which makes your stay more special than you could have hoped for. One thing that struck us, was the little luxury touches, from the Egyptian cotton bed linen, to the Molton Brown shower gel and scent around the house; the prosecco in the fridge on arrival, the little care package with scones, butter, milk, bread. Every type of tea you could imagine is available, honestly, there is nothing you have not thought of. It’s like walking into a 5 star hotel with the intimacy of a boutique experience and the thoughtful touches of what you’ve been trying to achieve in your own home, but never quite manage to. We felt at home immediately, which is a feeling that is difficult to explain, and even more difficult to achieve. On top of all that, if we hadn’t already had all the boxes ticked, Deb was beyond generous with her advice and all round helpfulness. She was at hand by text for restaurant recommendations, dog walking routes, and anything else we needed to make our stay as perfect as we could have wished for. Since we’ve got back we have not stopped telling people about our fantastic short break at Bells Cottage. Deb, you have found your calling, and our holiday at Bells Cottage was not just everything we hoped for, but so, so much more. Thank you, we will be back! ❤️

Best trip ever! Reviewed in December 2018 for a stay in November 2018

We stayed in the cottage for my birthday- and it was amazing! It was exceptionally clean, and the host made sure that we weren’t missing anything. (Shampoo, Snacks, cooking equipment….even dog treats were provided!) I can only recommend to stay there, we will definitely be back!

An enjoyable weekend that went too quick. Reviewed in November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

The whole cottage was lovely and homely with everything you could need. The cottage was lovely and warm and the home made scones were great.

 

“5 Star Cottage” Reviewed in October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
I booked a night away in Bell’s Cottage as a birthday present for my wife. The cottage has everything you could imagine with a real sense of high quality, attention to detail and luxury from the moment you arrived. Enjoyed every minute of our stay, the cottage was very relaxing and we left refreshed. Located in a lovely village and a great location for walks and exploring the Cotswolds.

Lovely Cottage, Lovely Village. Reviewed in October 2018 for a stay in September 2018.

Owner Deb was available for whatever we needed and accommodated us wonderfully. The cottage was lovely and very comfortable. Instructions for the utilities were all available and were easy to decipher. The scones that were left for our welcome were lovely and delicious as well as the chocolates. Lots of walking trails close to the cottage and the village was easy to get navigate. Everything was lovely!

“Exactly what we wanted!”
Reviewed 14 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
We booked with Deb for our 40th wedding anniversary trip to The Cotswolds (we live in California) and this cottage was right in the middle of all the great Cotswold villages so everything was close by. We walked to the Gardner’s Inn for lunch or dinner and there is a great pedestrian footpath thru the farms – right outside the front door.

The Ancient Church across the street is pure England and Deb found us several local events that were fantastic- and we would not have known about had she not mentioned them.

All in all a perfectly preserved ancient cottage that we stayed in for 10 days and loved every minute of it. Very comfortable and so close to all the right sights.

It was well worth our far journey from Japan. Reviewed in September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Host went out of her way to bring us around. She was really very kind picking us up and bringing us back to the station and the cottage. She was the face of the friendly countryside. Thank you Deborah! You made our stay an excellent experience- worth reliving every now and again. Definitely recommendable to friends!! Everything was well thought of in terms of comfort.

“Super!” Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Absolutely beautiful cottage in an ideal location. It sits toward the end of the road, opposite a church, and is very peaceful – we could sometimes hear the church bells, but only just and it was lovely. We spent a few days away for our wedding anniversary and couldn’t have picked a better place to stay. Yes, the stairs are a little steep, but it’s an old cottage – there are handrails to help. Four poster bed was so sumptuous, I had the best sleep. Walk through the churchyard and turn right, which eventually leads you to the local pub/restaurant a few minutes walk (owner there was extremely friendly and we had a couple of fun evenings, live music on a Friday and great food). We visited Sudeley Castle, Chastleton House, Snowshill Manor, and the Cotswold Lavender Farm – all of which were around a 20 minute drive away from the cottage, so it was nice and central for us. Deb set out a great hamper on arrival (thank you) and was easily accessible if we had any problems. Thank you for a wonderful stay, and would definitely come back again.

It is simply stunning! Reviewed in July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We booked for two nights on our way down south. A chocolate box setting from the exterior and everything to match inside. Period features, a lovely garden and the most comfy bed I’ve had for a while. Our little girl and puppy felt most welcome with the owner supplying everything we all needed. The pub up the road perfect being dog and child friendly was a must for us. The extra touches and good contact from Deb were wonderful. It’s got every facility you would need. We’ll definitely be back, probably in the winter to try the beautiful fire. You must try this place. NB.To be expected for this period property, take a stair gate for children as the stairs are very steep. We were warned about this in advance by the owner so not a criticism of the property, just a word of warning

Wonderful week in a fantastic cottage. Reviewed in July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Beautiful cottage with so many extras to make it special. Excellent attention to detail by the owner and great communication after booking. Loved sitting in the garden after a hard day exploring the beautiful Cotswolds with a glass of wine listening to the bells chiming from the old church across the road. Cottage is ideally situated for exploring the Cotswolds, excellent local pub, all very dog friendly and we loved it. Hope to return next year.

Will keep coming back, it is amazing! Reviewed in June 2018 for a stay in June 2018.

This was our second visit and we just cannot wait to go back again, this place is a perfect haven for those of us who have hectic working lives. You can just chill out in that gorgeous four poster bed or sit in the sun in the secluded back garden with a little glass of something cheeky. We are both Vegan and Deb made us flapjacks that were delicious and stocked the fridge with vegan friendly goods. Cannot say enough about this little bolthole it is just so lovely and the facilities are fantastic. The village is a typical chocolate box Cotswold one with a little shop and a great pub called the Gardeners Arms which serves great food and allows dogs inside as well as in the beer garden.

Felt like coming home. Reviewed in June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

On arrival we were welcomed by our very friendly host Deb and found an extensive welcome pack of goodies. The cottage is well equipped with quality equipment and has a real cottage feel to it. The big bed is very comfy. We loved sitting in the well maintained English garden which was full of flowers this time of year. Deb went through extensive effort to find out some recommendations on MTB cycling in the neighbourhood. There is a nice local pub at five minutes walk which also serves good food.

Absolutely perfect and more. Reviewed in June 2018 for a stay in May 2018. 

We stayed at this amazing cottage for a wedding and I want to go back as soon as possible. The cottage was idyllic and full of character. Although only 1 bedroom it’s surprisingly spacious with lots of room and a beautiful cottage garden. Everything is to such a high specification and matches perfectly – white company linen and royal dalton crockery! The design, furnishing and finish of the cottage is so tasteful and fits perfectly within the character. Very welcoming with everything you could need for a short stay from condiments, cooking oils, huge selection of teas and cereals, welcome pack of bread, biscuits, crisps, milk, butter and even clean dog towels provided in the cupboard. The host was easy to get hold of, extremely accommodating, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely recommend and love to go back.

Fabulous cottage situated in beautiful surroundings. Reviewed May 2018 for a stay in May 2018.

We stayed 2 nights at this fabulous cottage. We took our two children and our Labrador with us and had a brilliant time. Walking distance to a lovely dog friendly pub. The cottage was packed with all the kitchen essentials that you could ever need. Including a wonderful welcome basket full of goodies and basics including homemade scones, clotted cream and jam. A delicious start to our little get away. Lovely secure garden for both children and dogs. Owner was very helpful with pub suggestions and dog walking routes too. We will be back for much longer than 2 nights next time as we LOVED IT!!!!
Fabulous dog friendly cottage. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in May 2018.
Where do I start – what a perfect find! Beautifully presented cottage in a fabulous historical village. Bells Cottage has everything you could hope for. Immaculate with the most fantastic welcome basket we have ever experienced. Deb has thought of everything you could possibly need and the cottage is located down a quiet lane with a lovely garden and country walks on your door step. The staircase is a little steep but this adds to the charm of this lovely cottage. The local pub is welcoming and very dog friendly. This is a great part of the country and we will definitely be back.
Amazing cottage, excellent facilities and pristine. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Wow wow…..My partner and I booked last minute ( both of us have demanding jobs and children) ..Having wonderful parents we have one weekend each quarter to ourselves…visited many places and had great times…but we both agree Bells cottage knocked spots off any lodge or area as it was so beautiful, clean, pretty and the owner welcomed us with every piece of equipment and a lovely basket of food including homemade Jam and scones….we did not want to leave xxxxxxxx Thank you x

Absolutely loved it and would return. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in May 2018.

The cottage is in an idyllic location and on a Sunday morning the bells are just wonderful to listen to. Very peaceful and tranquil place for unwinding.

Wonderful place. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in May 2018.

Last week i visited Bells Cottage with my Family.Beautiful place!! Old,very stylish, perfectly equipped with everything you can need! Everything in very good quality, clean and tasteful. Excellent place for weekend or break in Cotswolds. I can highly recommend Bells Cottage to everybody.We really enjoyed this short break there!

Wonderful weather wonderful location wonderful property and a fantastic host. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in April 2018 

Idyllic cottage in a quintessentially English village….wonderful.

Anniversary weekend, and our second visit in six weeks! Reviewed 30th April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our second visit in six weeks – yes, it really is that good! We went back to this lovely cottage for our wedding anniversary and were greeted with a champagne cream tea, wonderful! The cottage has everything you could wish for and more, we love it and have no hesitation in heartily recommending a visit.

Better Than a Home From Home. Reviewed 2nd April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Beautiful cottage. Grade 2 listed, well cared for. Owners have thought out every aspect making the stay easy comfortable and better than home from home.

Nice touches all about the house including fresh flowers, information on local activities, dressing gowns and a welcome hamper with all essentials for arrival and a few extra treats.

Dog friendly, secure garden, even dog towels and treats provided.

Well equipped kitchen enough to cater for any needs.

Great location a lovely village with good walks locally, walking distance to a nice pub (where you get a 10% discount) and small shop.

Perfect. Reviewed 28th March for a stay in March 2018
You can’t fault this cottage. Very luxurious, with lovely owners who go the extra mile thinking of everything – and more – that you would want in a place to stay on holiday. They obviously take great pride in their cottage from the welcome hamper to treats for the dogs ! We have stayed at many places over the years and this is right at the top. Thank you.
Stunning! Reviewed in April for a stay in April.
What an absolutely stunning cottage! Me and my hubby (and dog) had a rare child free break and I can’t recommend this enough, Deb was brilliant, recommending walks for the dog and always really quick to respond. She even did us a gift basket on arrival with a bottle of prosecco chilling in the fridge! The cottage was gorgeous and really well equipped with everything from dog biscuits to hairdryer! Really clean and tidy but also felt really homely and cosy. A very short walk to an amazing pub which did really good food and was extremely dog friendly! The only downside is that it’s only one bedroom as I’d be back every year with the whole family!!!! Truly wonderful stay despite the rainy weather. Love love loved it. Thanks Deb! X
Couldn’t fault it. Reviewed 21st March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
A cottage that has everything, warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean, helpful owners. The hardest thing was packing up to go home, I could have stayed much longer. We hope to visit again soon.

Last night of our UK trip. Left on Mar 18, 2018 for a stay in Mar 2018

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by Deb at the cottage. This property exceeded our expectations in every way. Deb was an exceptional hostess and paid attention to every tiny detail. We seriously could not fault this place. We had a lovely evening in the local pub which was easily within walking distance. I would not hesitate in recommending Bells Cottage as an amazing place to stay and we are already planning our return visit.

Beautiful and cosy well equipped cottage. Perfect for a couple looking for some fresh air and peace and quiet.  Left on Mar 8, 2018 for a stay in Mar 2018

Booked very short notice due to the adverse weather and snow for a couple of nights in the country. The host responded immediately and it wasn’t a problem whatsoever. Communication was excellent during the booking process and she was at the property when we arrived. During check in our host showed us around the property and how to use everything. Everything was there that was needed (and more), she even provided a small welcome pack. WiFi was excellent. The property was cosy, the bed was comfortable and impeccably clean. The cottage itself was a beautiful old thatched cottage, located in the tiny village of Alderton, on the edge of the Cotswolds. It was located a short drive to Cheltenham and the tourist towns of Stow, Slaughter, etc. so a great base to explore in the car. In Alderton there is a lovely little pub called the Gardeners which serves nice food and the host was really helpful with suggestions of places to visit, walks, restaurants and pubs. Cannot rate the experience any higher. Fantastic host and a lovely place to stay.

What an Exquisite little love nest! Left on Mar 1, 2018 for a stay in Feb 2018

The owner could not have been more helpful meeting us on arrival and taking us through the whole cottage explaining everything. This was our first holiday together and it was such an enjoyable one, the cottage has everything you need and is great for dog lovers, our little ones really enjoyed exploring the garden. The four poster bed makes for a very romantic setting with views through the little windows across the fields and village. I would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants 5 star hotel surroundings without being forced to a time regime. It is also in a great position to explore the Cotswold area and there are many walks close by for those who are more energetic.

Cosy cottage in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay at Bells Cottage. The location was perfect for us – a short drive to nearby attractions and lovely walks literally on the doorstep! As soon as you walk in, there is a warm, welcoming atmosphere and there is everything you could possibly want for your stay… from a dishwasher to a lemon squeezer and everything in between! Our dog loved exploring the enclosed garden, not to mention the tin of dog biscuits! We really hope to visit again soon. Gemma, February 2018

Amazing – cosy and welcoming cottage. Pet friendly too! From start to finish the vendors were incredibly accommodating and helpful with the best places to go and see and anything else we asked for help with. The cottage exceeded our expectations and was immaculate throughout with a much appreciated welcome pack for our arrival as well as homemade jam which was a lovely touch. Location was fantastic for walking the dog and exploring the Cotswolds, a local welcoming pub which had outstanding food, all in all it was a wonderful weekend. Thank you, I can’t wait to come back! Jayne, February 2018

Highly recommended. Beautiful historical cottage in a small and quiet village. Cosy and quaint with lots of lovely olde world charm. Newly refurbished and very well set up with everything you need. Kitchen in particular had everything. All furnishings and appliances very high standard. Lovely welcome basket of snacks and staples which was great as arrived after long flight and didn’t feel like heading out. Nearest shops a couple of miles way. Good base for exploring the Cotswolds. Nicole, February 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the one night and loved every moment of it! Steve was very welcoming, the cottage is amazing! (ps the pictures really don’t do this place enough justice!) will definitely be booking to come back here again, highly recommended. David, February 2018

Bells Cottage is a wonderful place in a nice, quiet part of Alderton. Quick and easy access to many other villages in the Cotswolds and there are several walking paths nearby.  Definitely stop at the nearby pub (The Gardeners Arms) for a meal or a drink, their food is delicious (great traditional pub food and legitimately impressive vegan options as well!) and their gin menu is not to be reckoned with. Steve and Deborah were both very quick to respond to our questions and made the stay very comfortable. The welcome basket was wonderful! Nathan, January 2018

If you are looking for a beautiful, secluded, incredibly well equipped, impeccably clean cottage to get away from life for a bit, then this is the place for you. Can’t recommend this property highly enough, 5*. Tim, January 2018

What a beautiful cottage, lovely small village with all amenities.  Cottage is fantastic, lovely for a cosy few days away. Deborah has thought of everything you would need.  Highly recommended, but would love to keep it a secret for ourselves.  Emma, January 2018

Couldn’t fault our stay at Bells Cottage. From the moment I booked on line, I was contacted by the owners who couldn’t offer more help and advice. On arrival, greeted by Steve who went through all the technicalities (heating, fire hot water etc) and we were surprised to have all of the basics ready for us (milk for a much needed cup of tea, bread, eggs etc).  And more special was the homemade marmalade which I confess to bringing the jar back with me as it was delicious! The cottage is well equipped, with all the necessities, and the bed was truly comfortable. Unfortunately my dog wasn’t happy with the unfamiliar environment and I was forced to sleep on the sofabed downstairs rather than the gorgeous comfy bed, but these are the things we do for our much loved members of the family I suppose.  Would highly recommend! Bronwyn, January 2018

Bell’s Cottage is a wonderful place in a nice, quiet part of Alderton. Quick and easy access to many other villages in the Cotswolds, and there are several walking paths nearby. Definitely stop at the nearby pub for a meal or a drink–their food is delicious (great traditional pub food and legitimately impressive vegan options as well!) and their gin menu is not to be reckoned with. Steve and Deborah were both very quick to respond to our questions, and made the stay very comfortable. The welcome basket was wonderful! Nathan, January 2018

Lovely quiet location, well equipped facilities which makes for a very comfortable stay. James, January 2018

Quintessential Cotswold cottage, clean, comfortable and warm. Everything there I needed. Excellent pub a short walk away too! Easy access from M5 j9 and close to Cheltenham and other Cotswold towns and villages Could not recommend more highly. Jamie, December 2017

The stay was beautiful and absolutely perfect for a Christmas break. They provided a wonderful service, the cottage had everything you could possibly imagine in, and more! Lots of personal touches and delicious homemade treats. The dog loved it too 🙂 Fay, December 2017

We really loved our stay at Bells Cottage. A beautifully furnished space which was well equipped with everything we needed. Ideal for a quiet weekend away and perfectly located to use as a base for exploring the Cotswolds. Bells Cottage has some wonderful touches and was really warm and cosy. Very comfortable four poster bed and the bathroom was well fitted out and stocked with high quality toiletries.  The welcome food and drink was much appreciated too, we particularly enjoyed the homemade jam! Steve was a wonderful host.  Super responsive prior to arrival. We cannot recommend Bells Cottage highly enough and we hope to return again in the near future. Thank you for such a wonderful stay! Maria, December 2017

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search